Upcoming Events

Legislative Conference

January 30 - February 1, 2017
The Desmond Hotel, Albany

County Finance School

May 2017

Fall Seminar

September 2017


NYS County Government

New York State’s 57 counties outside the City of New York have generally adopted one of three methods of county organization:

Chemung County Courthouse
  • Charter counties with an elected executive or appointed administrative official,
  • Counties with an appointed manager or administrator organized under county law, and
  • Those operating under the administrative direction of an elected legislative body 
Of these types, the break down across New York counties as as follows:
  • County Charters—23 counties: 18 currently with county executives elected in countywide general elections and five with appointed administrators or managers. 
  • Appointed Manager/Administrator—22 counties have administrators and 10 have managers.
  • Legislative Body—8 counties provide oversight and administration through their board chair and/or committees that that have jurisdiction over specific departments.

Reports & White Papers

  • County Government in New York State - a report on the historical development of counties and the state statutes in New York that have influenced the establishment of local government in general, and county government in particular.