On March 11, 2021, President Joe Biden signed the American Rescue Plan into law. The $1.9 trillion dollar relief bill makes unprecedented investments in the programs critical to ending the pandemic and aiding a nationwide recovery.

Most notably for counties, the American Rescue Plan provides
$65 billion in direct aid to counties.

The American Rescue Plan includes $3.8 billion for the 57 counties ($2.2 billion) of New York State and New York City ($1.6 billion) based on population. New York City will receive another $4 billion through CDBG formula funding.

This funding can be used to respond to the public health emergency caused by the coronavirus as well as address the economic devastation that came with it, including assistance to households, small businesses and nonprofits, aid to impacted industries such as 
tourism, travel and hospitality. 

Learn more about the American Rescue Plan by clicking the links below.