Skip to main content Skip to footer

Standing Committees

NYSAC Standing Committees are essential in the development of NYSAC's advocacy planning and efforts. They develop, discuss and adopt the series of resolutions that go before the full county delegation, and then become the basis of NYSAC's legislative program for the coming year. 
At NYSAC's Fall Seminar and winter Legislative Conference, county delegates from across the state meet in standing committees to develop, discuss, and adopt resolutions on issues impacting counties. The resolutions highlight the priorities of New York's county governments and make up the foundation of NYSAC's Legislative Platform.

If you are interested in being a member of one of NYSAC's standing committees, please download and print out a copy of the nomination form and email or mail the form to Chancey Young at

W. Brooke Harris, Allegany, Chair
NYSAC Staff Contact: Dave Lucas 

Douglas Berwanger, Wyoming , Chair
Paul Ruszkiewicz, Orange , Vice Chair
Terry Wilbur, Oswego , Vice Chair
NYSAC Staff Contact: Tom Oldfather

Heidi Bond, Otsego , Chair
Sara Boerenko, Montgomery , Vice-Chair
Elizabeth O'Neil, Albany , Vice-Chair
Rita Wood, Ulster , Vice-Chair 
NYSAC Staff Contact: Ryan Gregoire 

Jen Metzger, Ulster County, Chair
Heather Brown, Sullivan County, Vice-Chair
Bonnie Lawrence, Erie County, Vice-Chair
Peter McCartt, Westchester County, Vice-Chair
NYSAC Staff Contact: Alex LaMonte

Robert Hagemann, Jefferson , Co-Chair 
Mark Scimone, Madison, Co-Chair
Cheryl Ketchum, Wyoming , Vice-Chair 
Jack Wheeler, Steuben , Vice-Chair 
NYSAC Staff Contact: Mark LaVigne 

Kira Pospesel, Greene , Chair 
Michael Fitzgerald, Madison , Vice-Chair 
Robert Franklin, Monroe , Vice-Chair 
NYSAC Staff Contact: Dave Lucas  

Ashley Milliman, Cattaraugus , Chair 

NYSAC Staff Contact: Patrick Cummings  

Linda Beers, Essex , Chair 
Michael Amo, Orange , Vice-Chair 
Lawrence Eisenstein, Nassau , Vice-Chair 
NYSAC staff contact: Alex LaMonte 

Matthew Veitch, Saratoga , Chair 
Juan Figueroa, Ulster County Sheriff , Vice-Chair
Kathy Stegenga, Orange , Vice-Chair
Dan Degear, Madison,Vice-Chair
NYSAC Staff Contact: Ryan Gregoire 

Ruth Doyle, St. Lawrence , Chair 
Terri Ross, Allegany , Vice-Chair 
Patrick Schmitt, Wayne , Vice-Chair
NYSAC Staff Contact: Dave Lucas  

Deborah Donohue, Washington, Chair 
Hon. Phil Reed, Jefferson, Vice-Chair
NYSAC Staff Contact: Mark LaVigne

Paul Lutwak, Madison , Chair
Vice Chair - TBD
NYSAC Staff Contact: Mark LaVigne

Contact Us

New York State Association of Counties
515 Broadway, Suite 402
Albany, NY 12207
Phone: (518) 465-1473
Fax: (518) 465-0506

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.